Share this page


Trust Council

  • You are here: 
  • Home > 
  • Trust Council

2018-2022 Trust Council Members


Back Row - L to R: Jane Wolverton, Galiano Island; Kees Langeris, Gabriola Island; David Maude, Mayne Island; Steve Wright, South Pender Island; Doug Fenton, Thetis Island; Alex Allen, Hornby Island; Scott Colbourne, Gabriola Island; Peter Johnston, Lasqueti Island; Paul Brent, Saturna Island; Laura Patrick, Salt Spring Island; Lee Middleton, Saturna Island; Deb Morrison, North Pender Island; Kate-Louise Stamford, Gambier Island; Peter Grove, Salt Spring Island; Dan Rogers, Keats Island; Michael Kaile, Bowen Island Municipality; Benjamin McConchie, North Pender Island.

Front Row - L to R: Tahirih Rockafella, Galiano Island; Jeanine Dodds, Mayne Island; Cameron Thorn, South Pender Island; Sue Ellen Fast, Bowen Island Municipality; David Critchley, Denman Island; Timothy Peterson, Lasqueti Island; Laura Busheikin, Denman Island; Peter Luckham, Thetis Island.

Missing - Grant Scott, Hornby Island.

The 26 elected trustees of the Islands Trust Council are charged with carrying out a provincial mandate to preserve and protect this special part of the world. Two local trustees represent the electors of each local trust area and two municipal trustees represent Bowen Island Municipality. Like other local governments in BC, each trustee is elected for four years. Trust Council holds quarterly public meetings and elects an Executive Committee that conducts daily business between its quarterly meetings.

The Trust Council establishes general policies for carrying out the object of the Trust and is responsible for the financial management of the Trust, with the exception of the Trust Fund (Section 4(2) of the Islands Trust Act). The Trust Council appoints staff and auditors, adopts the annual budget (Section 8), and elects the Executive Committee (Section 20).

Trust Council has a policy manual to guide its decisions. At its December 2019 Quarterly meeting, Trust Council adopted its Strategic Plan for the 2018-2022 term.

The Islands Trust Policy Statement outlines the general Trust Council policies which are designed to support the object of the Trust. It provides a framework for land use planning in the Trust Area, and guarantees compatibility between plans for the various local areas. All local trust committee bylaws and all official community plans and amendments must comply with the Policy Statement. Trust Council establishes sub-committees of Council members to investigate such matters as may be assigned to them by Council.

Click here if you wish to talk to Trust Council, in person or in writing, or use the contact form below to send an e-mail.


Meeting Calendar                         Contact Islands Trust                    Subscriber Options

Page last updated: 29/07/20
© Islands Trust. All Rights Reserved.