Share this page


Elections in the Trust Area

The general local election for Island Trustees took place on Saturday, October 20, 2018. Across the entire Trust Area, 26 trustees were elected, two for each local trust area or island municipality.

You can find out more about being a voter in the Trust Area or a candidate to become a trustee on these pages: 

For information on the election process in your local trust area, please contact the elections staff for your regional district or island municipality. They are responsible for elections in your area.

Bowen Island
Tel: 604-947-4255

Comox Valley
Tel: 250.334.6000 or toll free 1.800.331.6007

Tel: 250.390.4111 or toll free 1.877.607.4111
North Pender/
South Pender/
Salt Spring/Saturna
Tel: 250.360.3129 or toll free 1.800.663.4425
local 3129
Tel: 604.885.6825 or 1-800-687-5753
 Passage/Bowyer (part of Gambier LTA)
Tel: 604.432.6338
Tel: 604.485.2260
Tel: 250.746.2503 or toll free 1.800.665.3955

Islands Trust election services are contracted to the regional districts in your area. If you are unable to get the answers you need on this web-site, or from your regional district elections staff, please contact:

Carmen Thiel
Legislative Services Manager
(Corporate Secretary)
(250) 405-5188 
Main: (250) 405-5151
Fax: (250) 405-5155

General Information

Like other communities in British Columbia, island communities elect their Islands Trust representatives (Local Trustees) every four years. In total, there are 26 trustees elected across the Trust Area. If a vacancy occurs during the term, the Islands Trust conducts by-elections to fill the vacant Local Trustee position for the remainder of the term.

We will e-mail you the election results and other updates if you subscribe to Trust Council News.

The Ministry of Municipal Affairs & Housing website has general information about local government elections in British Columbia including a Voter's Guide that outlines who is qualified to vote.

Islands Trust elections are administered in accordance with Part 3 of the BC Local Government Act, under contract to seven Regional Districts in the Trust Area. Bowen Island Municipality manages its own elections.


Page last updated: 17/12/18
© Islands Trust. All Rights Reserved.